Home Elections

Elections 2024 Phase 3 facts

Explore key details of Elections 2024 Phase 3: Voting is underway in Gujarat, MP, UP, Bihar, and Chhattisgarh across 93 constituencies. Over 17.24 crore voters are eligible to vote in this phase.

By Aryan Saini
New Update
Elections 2024 phase 3

Elections 2024 Phase 3 | Representative image | Photo courtesy: Special arrangement

Listen to this article
0.75x 1x 1.5x
00:00 / 00:00

Elections 2024 Phase 3 Facts

Elections 2024 phase 3 has kicked off in the country today with this phase seeing voting in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's home state of Gujarat, along with the BJP-dominated regions of Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Chhattisgarh. The elections will span across 93 constituencies in 11 states and union territories, with polls opening at 7 AM and closing at 6 PM.

An impressive cadre of approximately 18.5 lakh polling officials are facilitating the voting process for over 17.24 crore electorate distributed across 1.85 lakh polling stations. The demographic breakdown reveals a near even split with 8.85 crore male and 8.39 crore female voters.

In this phase, more than 14.04 lakh elderly voters aged 85 and above, 39,599 centenarians, and 15.66 lakh voters with disabilities have been offered the option to vote from home.

The third phase of polling has high-profile candidates involved whose political destinies are on the line. Notably, Union Home Minister Amit Shah is seeking re-election from Gandhinagar in Gujarat. Similarly, Shivraj Singh Chouhan in Vidisha, Madhya Pradesh, Jyotiraditya Scindia in Guna, Madhya Pradesh, and Dimple Yadav in Mainpuri, Uttar Pradesh, are all contenders whose fates will be sealed today.

Elections 2024 phase 3 stands out with 1,331 candidates vying for voters' approval across various states. The electoral battleground involves diverse regions: 26 seats in Gujarat, 14 in Karnataka, 11 in Maharashtra, 10 in Uttar Pradesh, 8 in Madhya Pradesh, 7 in Chhattisgarh, 5 in Bihar, 4 each in Assam and West Bengal, and 2 seats each in Goa and in the territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

The significance of this phase cannot be overstated, as it concludes the voting for over 283 Lok Sabha seats. This indicates that more than half of the 543 Lok Sabha seats will have determined their political fate in just the first three phases.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), the Phase 3 of the elections will host 75 delegates from 23 countries under the International Election Visitor Programme, aimed at showcasing India's electoral management system and processes.

India is voting in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, with the counting of votes on June 4.

Elections 2024 Phase 3 Chart

Elections 2024 Phase 3
Courtesy: Election Commission of India