Election results 2021: massive wins and unprecedented drubbings - latest News of India Today

Election results 2021: massive wins and unprecedented drubbings

An overview of general assembly election results of West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Assam and Puducherry
First Published: May 03,2021 01:26PM
by The Probe

Mamata leads TMC to a resounding victory

Mamata Banerjee waving to supporters- Election results

Mamata Banerjee waving to supporters | Photo Courtesy @MamataBanerjeeOfficial | Facebook

In West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee led the TMC to a massive victory with the Trinamool Congress winning 213 seats and leading in 3 more seats taking the overall tally till Monday morning at 213. The BJP on the other hand had won 76 seats and was leading in 1 seat taking its overall tally to 77 seats. With this victory, Mamata is all set for her third consecutive term.

Election results for West Bengal as announced in the ECI website. Last updated by ECI at 4.40 p.m on May 3, 2021

Mamata Banerjee concedes defeat in Nandigram

Even as Mamata Banerjee led her party to a stupendous victory, she herself lost to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari in the Nandigram seat. As per the EC figures updated at 9.30 am on Monday, Suvendu had defeated Mamata Banerjee by 1956 votes. Last year, Suvendu had resigned from TMC to join the BJP.

Mamata Banerjee can still be the Chief Minister despite defeat in Nandigram

Article 164 (4) of the constitution states: “A Minister who for any period of six consecutive months is not a member of the Legislature of the State shall at the expiration of that period cease to be a Minister.” This also means that Mamata Banerjee will have to get elected in 6 months from any Bengal assembly constituency in a by-poll to hold on to the Chief Minister’s chair.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to twitter to congratulate Mamata Banerjee for her Party’s win in West Bengal.


Drubbing of the Left Front and Congress in West Bengal

The CPI(M) led Left Front and the Congress was seen trailing in all 292 seats till Monday morning. This is seen as an unprecedented drubbing for both the CPI(M)-led Left Front and the Congress party, which had ruled the state for almost 60 years between them.

MK Stalin all set to become Tamil Nadu CM

M.K Stalin is seen addressing a gathering of supporters | Photo Courtesy @MKStalin | Facebook

M.K Stalin is seen addressing a gathering of supporters | Photo Courtesy @MKStalin | Facebook

In Tamil Nadu, the DMK succeeded in wresting power from AIADMK with DMK-led by MK Stalin securing a clear edge over the ruling AIADMK front. As per the latest figures of the Election Commission of India, last updated at 10.05 a.m on Monday morning, DMK and its alliance partner Congress were seen leading in over 150 seats in the 234-seat Tamil Nadu assembly. With this, MK Stalin, the DMK President is all set to become the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the first time. Superstar Rajanikant who gave up politics a few days  ago was also seen wishing the DMK chief over his victory.

Election results for Tamil Nadu as announced in the ECI website. Last updated by ECI at 4.40 p.m on May 3, 2021

This is the first time, an election was held for the assembly without the overarching presence of former Tamil Nadu Chief Ministers J. Jayalalithaa or M. Karunanidhi.

Actor turned politician Kamal Haasan is seen greeting his supporters | Photo Courtesy @iKamalHaasan | Facebook

Meanwhile, Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) chief Kamal Haasan lost to BJP candidate Vanathi Srinivasan from Coimbatore South assembly constituency. According to the ECI data, Kamal Hassan got 51481 votes while Vanathi Srinivasan secured 53209 votes.

LDF scripts history in Kerala

In Kerala , the ruling Left Democratic Front scripted history by winning a historic second term. The CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front had secured 99 out of the 140 seats in the Kerala assembly. With this win, the LDF has broken the record of the over 40-year-old history in Kerala where the LDF and the UDF came to power alternatively.

Election results for Kerala as announced in the ECI website. Last updated by ECI at 11.05 am on May 3, 2021

With this victory the Pinarayi Vijayan-led LDF is all set to come back to power for a second consecutive term. By breaking the conventional pattern of the LDF-UDF winning alternatively in the elections, Vijayan has given his party the CPI(M) the much needed electoral victory as Kerala is the only State where the party is in power at the moment.

Pinarayi Vijayan scripts history and wins a record second term

Pinarayi Vijayan’s timely handling of the Covid-19 is being credited as one of the reasons for his victory in Kerala. As per April end figures, Kerala’s death rate from Covid stands at 0.3%, which is one of the lowest in India. Following the results, Pinarayi Vijayan took to twitter to thank the people for voting his party back to power.


BJP-led NDA wins second term in Assam

In Assam, the BJP-led NDA coalition has secured a second consecutive term. In the 126-seat Assam assembly, BJP and its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People’s Party, Liberal  managed to bag 75 seats.

Election results for Assam as announced in the ECI website. Last updated by ECI at 9 a.m on May 3, 2021

With this victory, Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal-led government has become the first non-Congress party to retain power in the state for a straight second term.

Meanwhile, BJP’s Himanta Biswa Sarma once again won from the Jalukbari constituency. Sarma took to twitter to thank the people for voting him to power from the constituency for the fifth consecutive term.


NDA wins in Puducherry

In Puducherry, the All India NR Congress-led NDA alliance is headed to form the next Government after the alliance crossed the half-way mark in the 30-member assembly.

Election results for Puducherry as announced in the ECI website. Last updated by ECI at 9 a.m on May 3, 2021

Speculation is rife that former Chief Minister of the Union Territory, NR Congress chief N Rangaswamy is all set to become the Chief Minister of Puducherry. N Rangaswamy had contested from two constituencies Thattanchavady and Yanam during this election.

Though he won in Thattanchavady constituency, he lost to independent candidate Gollapalli Srinivas Ashok in Yanam constituency.

All India NR Congress (AINRC) party chief N. Rangaswamy | Photo Courtesy @AINRC | Facebook

Earlier, the Congress-led government in Puducherry under V. Narayanasamy fell before completing its five-year term after the Congress government lost its majority in the legislative assembly and the trust vote on the floor.

Rate this post

Show us that you care for Independent Journalism. Support us by paying to keep Journalism free.

If you like this story and if you appreciate our Ad-Free Independent Journalism platform, show us your support by becoming our Member. Our Journalism can only sustain itself and survive if well-meaning people like you pay for news. Click here to become our Member.

Leave a reply


Key-in your email id to get our weekly email newsletters
delivered straight to your inbox